Interview: Beardyman

I interviewed Beardyman for There Goes The Fear.

Starting off small, beatboxing to his friends, Beardyman has become one of the hottest properties in underground music. His unique way of performing with looping sounds, manipulating his voice and using an endless supply of electro gear has gained him a cult following. Next year he is finally releasing his debut album, read below to find out more from this truly original artist.

For those who haven’t heard you before, how would you describe your sound?
It depends on the gig really, so it’s hard to say. I make live music, of many different genres in many different styles, all live, using about half a ton of synthesizers, sound-loopers, FX units vocal manipulation tools and other things. Generally I sway towards dance music genres. I started out as a beatboxer but I now incorporate so much technology into my shows that you could hardly call it beatboxing anymore.

Most of the sounds in my shows come from my mouth and are manipulated live to become what ever I want them to be. It’s at times comedic, at times ridicu-sick, at times disgusto-bad, at times trippy and psychedelic.  I take people on a musical journey when I play, from hip hop through jazz, gabba, techno, drum ‘n’ bass – not in that order. It depends on the night, I play whatever are the most popular underground genres in whichever country I’m in at the time.

Read the whole interview here: http://www.theregoesthefear.com/2010/11/interview-beardyman.php

Leave a Reply

